Saved: Delivered

My recent schedule is going to make it difficult to blog/ journal consistently, but I am going to give it my best shot. Today, I have found myself in Numbers 10 vs. 9, “When you go to war in your land against the adversary who attacks  you, then you shall sound an alarm with the trumpets, that you may be remembered  before the LORD your God, and be saved from your enemies.”  There were different signals that were announced through the horn. In this case, God is telling Israel what she must do in order to be delivered from the hands of her enemies. When the horn was sounded, Israel would be called to arms to prepare for battle and prepared to fight. Israel’s salvation required commitment to warring against the enemy.

How this relates to our salvation today:

  • When we speak of salvation we are often talking about our deliverance from sin. Some of the greatest stories we know of is when God has delivered someone from bondage. I have two friends who have lost over 100 lbs. each. They were ensnared by an addiction to food. Part of the freedom that God brought to them when they submitted their life to Him was from the enemy of gluttony and lack of self control.
  • Just as Israel was required to sound the horn in order to be victorious over her enemies, so also are we called to arms to fight against sin. I have wondered at times why I cannot get past certain hangups in my life. One of my most recent struggles has been with anger. But I have sounded the horn in my life by bringing my sin to the light. Over the past year I have worked  a 12 step discipleship program where God has helped bring me freedom from the rage that used to define me. Sounding the horn to battle against our enemies means getting accountability and confessing our struggle to another so that we can be healed.
  • Our willingness to sound the horn directly corresponds to our salvation. Sounding the horn is not a “work” that saves us, but rather, it is a means of grace that God gives us to see us through in our salvation. We must practice taking up spiritual arms if we are going to be delivered from sin. It is essential to the Christian life. If we refuse to be in the light, then that means we remain in darkness and that the light is not in us. If we have not taken up the armor of God, and if we continue to succumb to the attack of the enemy, crumbling to our captors in life, then we really aren’t free, are we? And if that is the case, then we are slaves to someone or something else other than our Creator, and that will have eternal consequences.
  • Confession to another the exact nature of our sin is the sounding horn that frees us from the grasp of the enemy. Overcoming the enemy requires steadfastness and lasting commitment to “sound the horn” when we are faced with the choice to sin. When a believer says, I am full of lust, or when he says, I fear man, or I self loathe, or I am an addict, it disarms the enemy by bringing the believer into the light. Confession is agreeing with God about the condition of your life. It is the coming out of hiding from a God who already knows where you are so that he can clothe you in His truth and righteousness that says, “You are forgiven. You are loved. You are mine. You are made in my image. You are an overcomer. You are redeemed. You are a child of the King.”

You want to live a life of freedom from the enemy? I do. May our salvation find strength in the God given grace of confession as we sound the horn to bring us to battle against our enemy.

Leave a Reply

