Planners and Task Lists

One of the greatest weaknesses that I have traditionally had is sticking to a planner. I have become the king of starting planners and then failing to maintain them and stick to the plan. Checklists would often get neglected and soon I would find myself in a world of hurt and under a mountain of overdue work.

Well, I am happy to report that for the first time I have completed an entire semester of faithfully maintaining my planner. It is called “My Day,” a program that comes with the Office suite for the Mac. Through this program I have planned all my projects, readings, classes, social life, doctor’s appointments, ministry events and more. And I have not missed a beat. I believe that I have accomplished more this semester than I have at any other time. I have an updated task list and out of hundreds of tasks for this semester, I only have 2 things left to do!

The reason this has worked for me is not because of my daily diligence. I have finally found a system that is compatible with my personality. It is something I like, so I use it. If you are having trouble keeping up with the business of life, then the best thing you can do is find a system to get organized and then stick to it. Find something that you like and works well for you!

Leave a Reply

